Honey House Kuranda was established in 1959 by Mr and Mrs Howard Jones, North Queensland locals. The business was originally situated on the corner of Therwine Street which at that time was the main road into Kuranda. On this site, Howard Jones developed the business offering free honey tasting, bee hives, beekeeping equipment displays and educational tours. In 1968, the business was moved 100 metres up the road to todays present site where an adjoining motel was built.The Honey House was purchased in 1977 by Jim and Olive Mealing who continued to offer visitors a very special introduction to our areas’ unique honeys. In 1978, the observation bee hives were introduced and to this day prove a source of excitement and interest to all who see them. The Mealings and Honey House Kuranda were also instrumental in Kuranda Original Market beginning in 1978. This came about by the Mealings offering some of the Honey House land to the hippies and artisans for their stalls. This market is still operating today.
The Mealings retired in 2005 and the current owner, Trish Green purchased the business in 2007 after having worked with the Mealing family for many years. In 2019 under Trish Green’s guidance the Honey House Kuranda celebrated 60 years of operation.
Having seen many changes in Kuranda over the years, Trish plans to ensure that Kuranda’s oldest tourist attraction continues offering quality local honey and the educational activities it is known for. With todays Honey House Kuranda still offering the unique opportunity to observe the inner workings of a beehive up close and taste the raw honeys of the tropical north it will continue to delight visitors and honey lovers for many more years to come.